Fantastically useful book

29 Nov

(I risk sounding over-dramatic, perhaps over-cautious or maybe like I’m making a mountain out of a mole-hill on this blog to people who haven’t experienced severe allergies in their own children.  I welcome you to read my posts but primarily this blog is aimed at those who do have to manage allergies on a daily basis.)  

One of the strongest feelings I had when our son was diagnosed with severe allergies at 9 months was just how alone we were in our experience.  In fact, that feeling started a few months previously when it began to dawn on us that his symptoms did seem to obviously be part of allergic reactions (there’ll be plenty more in a future post on why there was this gap of a few months (hint: unhelpful GPs!)).

Adam’s face would be oozing with puss (from his very severe eczema) whilst well meaning friends tried to cheer me up by telling me about their kids eczema (which was always a bit of dry skin rather than the ‘raging fire’ that the Gt Ormond St dermatologist described it as).  He’d be ‘possetting’ (more like proper vomiting) all over me in cafes as I sat with my friends with their calm little babies in their arms.  Well that’s not strictly true-I can’t remember ever actually staying seated in a cafe as Adam was usually screaming and needed rocking pretty much all of the time (in precious hindsight it seems that might have been because of the pain and discomfort of his allergy-related gut problems).  We couldn’t use washable nappies because his literally fluorescent green diarrhea would just flood out of them, whatever brand we used.

Yes, it wasn’t the prettiest of scenarios.  But one thing that helped was knowing that other people were  indeed going through something similar.  In addition of course to the spiritual perspective.  But it always helps to have that contact with others, to share experiences.

I remember reading on the wall of the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network Facebook page the post of someone whose kid had over 40 allergies!  Boy did that put our mere 5 or so (at the time) into perspective!  I also remember reading a post of a mother whose child had a similar issue to Adam in that he was allergic to touching trace amounts of foods (i.e. touching surfaces that at one point had been touched by the particular food they’re allergic to).  It was a relief to read that too!

I also was in touch with someone in Bristol who took the time to talk me through some of her experiences and who recommended this amazing book:

The book was exactly what I needed and I also recommend it to everyone I can.  It talks through the nitty-gritty of negotiating daily life with a child with allergies. From what to do at the playground to picnics to holidays.  Its also filled with anecdotes (I love them!) and so is really nice to read as well as being informative.

If you know anyone in a similar situation, do get them this book if they haven’t already. It will be a great relief to them to flick through the pages and know others are in the same boat!

You can get the book here on Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

